These are the term dates for Reading’s maintained schools. Academies and free schools do not have to follow these, so please confirm with your child’s school before booking holidays, etc.

Schools can set a number of training (inset) days, when they are closed to pupils. These may be different in each school and your school should inform you in advance.

2020/2021

Reading School Term Dates Calendar 2020-21 (PDF Download)

Term Start date End date
1 Tuesday 1 September 2020 (Inset day)

Schools return Wednesday 2 September

Friday 23 October 2020
2 Monday 2 November 2020 Friday 18 December 2020
3 Monday 4 January 2021 Friday 12 February 2021
4 Monday 22 February 2021 Thursday 1 April 2021 (Friday is Good Friday)
5 Monday 19 April 2021 Friday 28 May 2021
6 Monday 7 June 2021 Wednesday 21 July 2021

Please note that these are the dates for schools under Reading Local Authority control. Academies, free schools and other own admissions authority schools are free to set their own dates so these may be different.

2021/2022

Reading school term dates calendar 2021-22 (PDF download)

Term Start date End date
1 Wednesday 1 September 2021 (Inset Day)

Schools return Thursday 2 September

Friday 22 October 2021
2 Monday 1 November 2021 Friday 17 December 2021
3 Tuesday 4 January 2022 Friday 18 February 2022
4 Monday 28 February 2022 Friday 8 April 2022
5 Monday 25 April 2022 Friday 27 May 2022
6 Monday 6 June 2022 Thursday 21 July 2022

Please note that these are the dates for schools under Reading Local Authority control. Academies, free schools and other own admissions authority schools are free to set their own dates so these may be different.